Mr. Joseph Biden, President of the United States

The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20500

Cc: The Honorable Dan Sullivan, United States Senate

The Honorable Lisa Murkowski, United States Senate

The Honorable Mary Peltola, United States House of Representatives

Dear Mr. President:

I am a high school student from Fairbanks, Alaska, and I am writing to express my concern about the continuous usage of the imperial system of measurement in the United States. The education of American children is severely suffering, especially in mathematics (Desilver, “U.S Students’ Academic Achievements Still Lags That of Their Peers in Many Other Countries”). While converting to the metric system would not fix this problem entirely, it would certainly alleviate one difficulty students face in math and science, allowing them to focus on other aspects of STEM education.

America’s mathematics performance is severely behind the rest of the world. According to the PEW Research Center, America ranks 28th in math and places 12th in science. For one of the most powerful countries in the world, those numbers are rather dismal. The Wall Street Journal also corroborates this data, stating that the United States’ points in math fell by 13 points between 2018 and 2023. This upcoming generation is suffering academically, and forcing students to learn two very different unit systems, in addition to converting between them, isn’t helpful. The vast majority of American pupils find it difficult to translate imperial units and metric units. Even changing within the English system itself is challenging, as the conversions are non-sensible, and difficult for many to remember. In contrast, the metric system, based on factors of ten, is much easier to apply.