H.R.6651 – “Alaska Salmon Research Task Force Act”

Dear Senator Dan Sullivan,

I am a student at the University of Alaska Fairbanks and I recently came across a bill introduced by our late representative, Don Young, entitled H.R.6651 – “Alaska Salmon Research Task Force Act”. This bill was introduced on February 8th of this year and its purposes are to ensure that Pacific salmon trends are monitored, research is prioritized, declines in salmon populations are addressed, and the coordination of salmon conservation efforts are supported. I write this letter to strongly urge you Senator, to not only support this bill, but also prioritize Alaska native leadership within the task force. This would include full involvement of Alaska Native communities, especially youth, within the Salmon Research Task Force, especially in the villages where research would take place.

As a lifelong interior Alaskan resident, I have witnessed multiple situations where educational intensives or Fish and Game research projects have completely disrupted Native Alaskan villages due to lack of communication. Imagine relaxing in your house to look out the window and find a group of strangers digging around in your backyard collecting entire chunks of lawn and handfuls of dirt. This is how I imagine it must feel as an Alaskan Native to see groups of outside researchers busting into the rivers and streams of your home land and fishing for salmon samples.